Temperature sensing and use of "data logger"

jfdo

Question

Hi All,

I am new to this forum and I have the Analog discovery (AD) kit (bought in 2015) . I think it is Analog Discovery (Legacy).

Although I bought this in 2015 I never get to use it until recently. I have some experience in programming micro-controllers and implementing embedded systems.

I think I miss some basics to setup the data logger in the "Wave Forms" and appreciate your input. Ultimate use is to connect the scope input terminals to K-type thermocouple to measure temperature.

Please correct  if I am wrong in this description.

1) Since the data logger is to acquire data for extended time and plot them with suitable axes, the "Wave Form" (WF) allows "Data logger" interface to acquire relevant data from the "Scope" interface.

2)  As for a simple test I did the following:

a) Connected the W1 (wave generator output) to 1+ (scope channel 1 input).
    b) Connected the black ground wire of AD to the 1- (scope channel 1 ground).
    c) Generated a simple 1kHz , 1V amplitude sine wave signal in the "Wave Generator" interface. 
    d) I can see the waveform in scope interface and there is no problem in using scope and wave generator. Please see the settings of the scope interface in the attached print screen ("scope1").

3) Since data logger acquire data from the scope interface, can't I see the sine waveform (as shown in the scope) in the data logger? or Am I missing something here?

4) In the Data logger, there are two items in the "item" list as shown in the attached  "DLogger1".  That is C1/C2: DC, True RMS and AC RMS. 

4)  What is the correct way to insert the input variable in the function/maths editor (please see the attached print screen "DLogger2")  in order to add a new plot  in the data logger?

SHOULD I USE C1 (for channel 1) or "1 +/-"  (WITH DOUBLE QUOTES)  to introduce the input variable?