Zmod DAC 1411 4096 Sample Limit?

timmy

Question

I've been attempting to make a program that produces a 16383 sample long linear chirp on an Eclypse Z7 (DAC1411). Stuff is going well, I'm using Vivado 2019.1 to match with the IP create_hier script, but I can't seem to produce a signal over 4096 samples long. Attached is my main code and a photo of a scope showing the first quarter of the chirp.

Any help, or further questions would be greatly appreciated. I'm very new to FPGA programming.

main.cc

Scope (3).jpg

18 answers to this question

Hi @timmy,

Welcome to the forums.

The implementation of DMA and use of buffering in Zynq PL in the create_hier script design limits the buffer size available. The AXI adapter IP for the DAC includes circular buffers which are used to hold the samples that are played out through the DAC controller. The buffers are limited to 2^14 (4096) samples to save on BRAM resources - see section 4.2 here: https://github.com/Digilent/vivado-library/blob/zmod/v1/2019.1-2/ip/Zmods/AXI_Zmod_DAC1411/doc/ZmodDAC1411AxiAdapter.pdf.

There are several alternative approaches to the problem:

1. Use the WaveForms support. AWG buffers there are up to 64 kS per channel with a single DAC and 32 kS if you want to use two DACs. https://digilent.com/reference/programmable-logic/eclypse-z7/waveforms. This is the easiest approach if you don't need the hardware to be particularly configurable. Look into custom waves, see the attached screenshot.

2. Work in Vivado to generate an input pattern in hardware. Depending on the complexity of the signal, it could be relatively straightforward to just generate it in PL and ignore the PS. Modifying the low-pass filter demo could be a starting point: https://digilent.com/reference/programmable-logic/eclypse-z7/demos/low-level-low-pass-filter Edit - this approach would be complex to implement given your Chirp function, at least for a beginner.