[Help] UART Protocol complete but basic explanation (And guides from newbie perspective)

latot

Question

Hi all, I'm trying to learn verilog, I'm new in the FPGA world, I got the very basics of verilog, and one very important thing is how to communicate the FPGA with a computer.

To who is written this.., well anyone interested in newbies difficulties, who want to write guides, and for Digilent too.

I want to ppl understand here, why is hard for a newbie learn UART, even before the implementation. I want you to understand why I can't understand. And later, in case I succeed to show you that, help me and others, to learn UART in a better experience and with that, open more the FPGA world, I still can't understand very well UART.

Sorry if this text is too long, or even sounds too pretentious.

Personally, has been too hard to get how works verilog, verilog is not difficult, but is hard to find documentation that understand its own common sense, ppl a lot of times tries to explain (with good will) but didn't notice that a lot of words, concepts, logic states of the guide/project are still not explained, so ppl will not be able to understand what they just don't know, well I found a doc about verilog very good about it.

I think is the most complete I have found, read from the start to get it, special for newbies like me:

https://verilogguide.readthedocs.io/en/latest/

Oks, go to the topic, I have checked a lot of videos, longs and short ones, codes of github, guides, and there is always a point where something is not explained and I ends in confusion. I would appreciate don't says, "read this one", one reason why I can't understand very well this is due the same as above in verilog, there is common sense and experiences that a newbie does not have way to know. You will understand this better later, I wrote that down :)

I want to understand UART, I think is great  to then can construct more robust projects, so the point is not just test and found "it works".