Inter-board Data Transfer Project

zygot

Do you need a board to board data interface because you've run out of IO or need a high speed PC interface? Interested in learning about how to deal with multiple clock domains? Just want to learn VHDL or the HDL design source flow? Do you want to stream your Arty A7 with ADC PMOD samples to a PC but don't have a suitable interface? Keep reading...

Here's a project to try out and study. Zygot revisits the differential PMOD to find a use for it.

Is this a new Differential PMOD Challenge?

There's only one way to find out.

HighSpeedUartInf_Rev1.zip

Zygot, you're an idiot... I've already changed one line of code and improved that data rate by 16% to about 20 MB/s... love, the neurons in zygot's brain that are on speaking terms.

Can anyone else find Zygot's silly mistake ?

I'm not too experienced with VHDL so I'm probably wrong, but I did see that the N number of 8-bit words listed between the HsSerializer entity listed in HsSerializer.vhd and the HsSerializer component in the HsUartTx.vhd file did not match. But I'm not sure if that difference contributes to the 16% improvement you found.

1 hour ago, JColvin said:

But I'm not sure if that difference contributes to the 16% improvement you found.

Nope. But you're on the right track... go up one level on the hierarchy. It's a goofy mistake and not obvious if you don't run the simulation to see how the design works.

It's odd how one can read code and be bothered by something, but not process it it at all, only to have it sack you in the head while doing something unrelated. I'd hate to see a schematic for the wiring of my brain....

I can say this. The basic design concept is quite robust. The project as submitted works at about 20 MB/s but I've changed the clocking and run a 2 board setup at over 30 MB/s. Still, I'd like to see a better design approach.

1 hour ago, JColvin said: