Pmod DA3 on Eclypse Z7

Brogli

Question

Hi everyone

I'm pretty new to the entire FPGA developpment. I have a basic understanding of how VHDL works and I have managed to set up a blinking light with the current setup I have. But my project is a bit bigger than just blinking the onboard LEDs. The goal is to have three analogue inputs (read via Zmod Scope 1410-105s), one analogue output (Pmod DA3), do some signal processing and send the data to a computer. 

I found out how to use the Scopes. I have not yet connected it to a signal generator, but I have a general understanding on how to proceed. But when it comes to the signal output I'm a bit clueless. I think the ideal place to add the DAC is at the PMOD port A or when we look at the .xdc file it would be labeled Pmod Header JA. Is there an IP I can use or some sample project or do I have to program it myself from ground up?

Thank you for your assistance.

Edited by Brogli
Typos and clarrifications and tags

10 answers to this question

2 hours ago, Brogli said:

The goal is to have three analogue inputs (read via Zmod Scope 1410-105s), one analogue output (Pmod DA3), do some signal processing and send the data to a computer. 

What you don't mention is the FPGA platform that you intend to use. I imagine that you are using the USB104 with one SYZYGY port.  The 3 PMOD headers are low data rate interfaces ( < 10 MHz ). connecting a PMOD DAC that works at 100 MHZ Fs isn't going to happen.

If your DAC sampling bandwidth is below the 500 KHz or lower range then you might have a fighting chance. I guess that it all depends on what you are trying to capture with an ADC and what you want to see out of your DAC.

Edited by zygot

@Brogli

Welcome to the forum.