chipKIT Uno32, Sensor Integration Trouble

Nick Johnson

Question

Hello Digilent Community,

I am a mechanical engineering student at WSU and some of my friends and I am working on a personal project which involves taking pressure and temperature readings. To accomplish this we bought a couple of BMP280 Arduino sensors from Amazon.com found here: https://www.amazon.com/Diymore-Atmospheric-Pressure-Breakout-Replace/dp/B01IR44E1G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1517419990&sr=8-1&keywords=diymore+bmp280

We are attempting to integrate this sensor with a chipKIT Uno32 board, however, no matter what we've tried we haven't been able to establish communication with the sensor. Whenever we run an example program and open the serial monitor, an error appears saying that no sensor could be found and to check the wiring. I will include a photo of the sensor to show how the pins are labeled. The "VCC" pin is wired to the 3.3V power terminal on the board and the "GND" pin is wired to the board's ground port, both via breadboard. I believe that the problem lies in the other two pins that are needed. We have tried wiring the "SCL" and "SDA" pins to several ports on the board to no avail. The sensor's Amazon page states that this board can use both I2C and SPI communication protocols, but me and my group of ME friends aren't really sure how to interpret this information. It would be very helpful if the pin correspondence for this sensor with the Uno32 was known, and assistance with this problem would be much appreciated. Our group is pretty out of our element here, and I apologize if I used some lingo incorrectly. To be clear, this is not a senior project or a graded assignment of any sort. We're just a few hobbyists. :)

Thank you and best regards,

Nick and the Team

Pinout.PNG

7 answers to this question

Hi @Nick Johnson,