Fast digital to analog converter

prisacari

Question

I’m a PhD student working in a mechanics laboratory in France (LMT Cachan) and one of the goals of my thesis is to control a hydraulic testing machine using digital image correlation techniques. In order to do this, I need to take a photo of a sample, process it, extract 4 parameters and send them to the testing machine. This process needs to be repeated at a frequency of approximately 80Hz. We need a device to send these values from a Linux computer to the 4 analog entries of the machine (0-10V, 0.5 mA) by coaxial BNC cable. We managed to do this for one channel using an USB  connected oscilloscope by sending a continuous current by changing the offset using C++. The problem is that this solution is too slow and has only one channel.

For this we would need a device that has a viable and fast connection (Ethernet, PCI, even USB if recommended) that can send data from a Linux computer (ideally using C++) with a latency of around 1ms, frequency of at least 100Hz, precision of 0.1% and on 4 synchronized analog outputs.  Given that I am not particularly specialized in the field of electronics, researching such a device among the large quantity of items produced by your firm proves to be a difficult task.

I would like to know if you have a product that fits our needs and if similar purpose programming has already been done (or could easily be done) to send data from a linux computer to analog outputs (using C++ ideally).

Best regards,

Ionut Prisacari         

4 answers to this question

Sorry for the delay, I didn't get an email notifying me that you replied to my post.