reading the zybo MAC in the fsbl

nickwh

Question

I've been working on a project for the Zybo with petalinux tools 2016.4 and I want to use the MAC address in the eprom on the board so that I can easily have multiple boards using the same image.

I found several hopeful posts from which I believed that I understand that I need to edit the hook.c source file used to build the fsbl.

I thought that I found the correct file "<projectname>/components/plnx_workspace/fsbl/src/fsbl_hooks.c" and I modified it to include the necessary lines of code but the command petalinux-built -c fsbl did not create a different image so there was no change - I also built the whole project and nothing changed.

Am I modifying the wrong source file? or perhaps the wrong changes - old and new files are attached.

I am a novice in this arena so sorry if I'm making a very obvious mistake or group of mistakes.

Thanks

fsbl_hooks.c

fsbl_hooks.c.old

6 answers to this question

Hi @nickwh,

I remember I changed my zybo MAC address with the device-tree. In your system.dts (or system-top.dts) you should find "&ǵem0" with local-mac-address = [your address];

If this field is empty I assume you'll get a random MAC address.

Let me know if it works for you !

regards,

Yohan

Yohan,

Thanks - there are probably several ways to change the MAC in a manualish/code manner: one nice way to do it it is set it in the

project-spec/meta-user/recipes-bsp/u-boot/files/platform-top.h

this file is normally almost empty with just a single include put if you locate the target of the include and copy the whole define CONFIG_EXTRA_ENV_S - note the whole define block of code is needed.  Then you can edit the ethaddr= line to whatever you want - it is then set before u-boot brings up the interface so it works for bootp etc.

#include <configs/platform-auto.h>

/* Extra U-Boot Env settings */
#define CONFIG_EXTRA_ENV_SETTINGS \

"ethaddr=00:0a:35:00:1e:53\0" \