Are these the steps to program flash memory on Cmod A7-35?

trossin

Question

What can I say, I'm new to Vivado and searching the web for how to program the flash only came up with how to do it in 2018 which did not apply or how to mess with MicroBlaze issues.  I just have a little toy project which uses the MMCM, some counters and a UART I wrote to flash the LEDs.  I don't want to trash my board so I figured it would be better to ask the seasoned veterans before pushing the program button.  The bit file I created works fine.  I just want to make sure I know how to burn it into the serial flash device so I can create projects that power up without a laptop attached.  Below are the steps that I came up with for Vivado 2023.2.  Please let me know what I should be doing differently.  Thanks.

To burn design into serial flash once a bit file has been created:

Make an mcs file by selecting Tools/Generate Memory Config File

• My board has the SPI flash part with a-SPI71 500 MX25 L3233F printed on it.  Lots of lenses to see this!
            (32Mbit Marcronix device)
  • Click Memory Part and select the flash memory part (mx25l3273f-spi-x1_x2_x4 by using the Search feature [mx25l32 should be enough]).  The mx25l3273f is similar to 3233 which is also a 32Mbit Marcronix device but no Hold feature on SIO3.
  • Select a destination (in your project folder like blah.runs/impl_1/Blah.mcs).
  • I left the Interface as SPIx1.  It seems that the flash device supports SPIx4 but I'm afraid.  Will SPIx4 work?
  • Click the Load bitstream files check box and add the bitstream for your project blah.runs/impl_1/blah.bit
  • Click Overwrite and maybe Checksum.
  • Press OK

Open Hardware Manager, plug board into USB port then Open target then click Auto connect

• Right click on device (xc7a35t_0) and select Add Configuration Memory Device ...
  • Select the flash memory part (mx25l3273f-spi-x1_x2_x4 by using the Search feature [mx25l32 should be enough])
  •     Macronix