Are these I2S errors data acquisition errors, or real I2S errors?

wolfie

Question

Hello,

I'm using the Digilent AD3 to analyze I2S for the first time.  So far, I've only used to as an oscilloscope.  The I2S feature of the logic analyzer looks very cool, but I'm still working to figure everything out.

I've attached 3 files:

1. I2S_capture_for_digilent.dwf3logicacq - this is the data I captured with the AD3.
  2. I2S_captured_with_DA3.jpg - this is a screenshot of the I2S captured with the AD3.  I've attached this incase in case I2S_capture_for_digilent.dwf3logicacq isn't loadable (this is my first time saving a capture).
  3. sinetone.jpg - this is a screenshot of a sine table (from my source code), which I'm playing out over I2S.  I couldn't fit the entire sine table in the screenshot, but it's symmetric about zero, so the missing negative values are obvious, given that all of the positive values are there.

I have a couple of questions:

1. Occasionally the decoded 2s compliment values show up as "Error".  Is this a data capture issue or a real error with my I2S data?
  2. The I2S values don't match the the hard-coded values that I have in my source code for the sine table.  For example, my sine table has values 6420363, 4342263, 2189866, 0.....  The corresponding I2S values captured with AD3 are 6420224, 4342016, 2189824, 0.  Is this to be expected?

Aside from these questions, any other helpful tips related to capturing I2S with the AD3 (or pointers to videos on the topic) are appreciated!

Thanks for your help,
Rob

sinetone.jpg

I2S_captured_with_DA3.jpg

I2S_capture_for_digilent.dwf3logicacq

8 answers to this question

Hi @wolfie

The interpreter seems to me correct.
For instance the following 32bit sample is 2189824 0x216A00 b00000000001000010110101000000000
The corresponding sample in the code is  2189866 0x216A2A b00000000001000010110101000101010

Your generator masks the last 8 bits to 0, so instead of 2189866 it outputs 2189824

image.png