Dasylab MAPI error and recommend client or method for SMTP

Todd Westcoat

Question

Ever since we upgraded to O365 and use an SMTP account via Mozilla Thunderbird we have had send issues.  If we change account in Thunderbird, DasyLab gets MAPI unknown error.  Desperately need to correct this as my experiment sends messages when freezers or rooms are out of temp range.  email send module. 

Have downloaded evaluation copy of DasyLab 2022 and get same MAPI error.  All was a fresh install.  It takes a bunch of effort to get the experiment SMTP sending to work now. 

If someone can recommend a software or method to use my Office 365 noreply account.  If we need to software are add a local SMTP server to the machine we will do whatever.    

Doc5.docx

6 answers to this question

I have no experience with Thunderbird, but I have used a throwaway Gmail account to send emails. The first step is to install OpenSSL v1.1.1 (32-bit version). Its installation program is small, so I have attached it below. After running the install, in the following guide starting on Step 5, follow the instructions to set the Set Environment Variable: https://thesecmaster.com/procedure-to-install-openssl-on-the-windows-platform/#How_To_Install_OpenSSL_On_The_Windows_Platform After, verify OpenSSL is installed by entering openssl version in a command prompt. It should indicate version 1.1.1w.

image.png

Next, create a Gmail account with two-step verification for DASYLab. You will need the Gmail app on your phone for this. When finished, follow the instructions on the following webpage to create an Application Specific Password:   https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/185833