How to get up the learning curve efficiently (Zedboard, Arty, etc)

DougM

Question

Hello,

I have not much FPGA experience, but a decent amount of microcontroller, board design, math, and silicon design in my background (I'm a physicist by training). 

How can I most efficiently get to the point where I can become competent with the Vivado/Vitus flow? Thanks in advance for any pointers.

I often have found (from other learning experiences) that a good way for me to proceed is to understand the basic concepts, implement/follow an example, and then grow from there with reference documentation to support new functions/features and help with the understanding and fixing of bugs.

I'm finding this unusually difficult with the Xilinx/AMD infrastructure, even though I've bought both a Zedboard and an Arty A7, and spent quite a bit of time on the endeavor. I have successfully implemented some designs (microblaze, small code examples, etc) but I am often running into frustration where I sometime am questioning whether the tools are at fault. Here's what I have found.

1. Examples, though appreciated, do not generally have much explanation of the "why" something is done, and how one might be expected to know that this particular IP block might benefit from this particular tweak, for example. 

2. The infrastructure is large, and tends to change. Examples and explanations become stale and broken rather quickly it seems. For example, the UI in Vitis 2023 is completely different. Maybe it's "better" by some metric, but it brings another significant barrier/overhead to a learning process. 

3. So far, I don't find the Documentation Navigator to be very helpful and a lot of the documentation is quite "Microsofty".  "to Spiffle a Splurge, select Spliffle->Splurge". Okaaay, but an explanation like that doesn't add much value.