Waveform Application logos doesn't appear in Raspberry pi 4 Programs menu

KeldAmpworks

Question

Hi,

I've just acquired a Raspberry Pi 4 for the purposes of using with an Analog Discovery 2. I'm new to raspberry pi so go easy on me if I'm using the wrong terms!

I've been following this tutorial to get started.

https://digilent.com/reference/test-and-measurement/guides/getting-started-with-raspberry-pi

I've installed Adept and Waveforms using the terminal (see screenshot) I've also tried installing just by opening the .deb packages. I've tried multiple times by both methods.

However the program icons don't appear in the Pi programs menu under Education or Programming as expected. They aren't in any of the other menus either. Other programs I've installed on the pi have successfully added the icons to the menus.

Waveforms does appear in the list of installed programs though (screenshot attached).

So I think it's there, I just haven't got a clue how to open the application without the menu or how ti add the programs to the menu manually.

Can anyone help please? Thanks in advance.

screenshotinstall.jpg

addprograms.jpg

6 answers to this question

You can start the application from a terminal window. 

The executable is waveforms and should be located somewhere on your path.  Mine is in /usr/bin on Unbuntu.  You can create a Gnome launcher for it if you prefer to use the desktop menus.

image.png.f42ac4e1b2ee6108b7120f6a8f437c37.png

Edited by Yizakat

Thanks a lot for your reply Yizakat. I'm new to Linux so that was really useful for getting me started with some things to Google. 

But unfortunately when I run "which waveforms" I don't get any results. From a bit of googling I understand that this means it's not installed to my path. Obviously as result of this when I then run waveforms& (what's the & about btw?) I get "command not found"