Version recommendation for Xilinx Installations

Hi!

I'm new to FPGAs and find the Xilinx Installation process quite daunting. The installation guideline on your website is fine, but it does not recommend specific versions of Vitis/Vivado for your boards. Installing the latest version seems to not be a good idea, because certain projects on a board aren't forward compatible.

Could you maybe add a table where it states which version you recommend for which board? I'm using the Basys3, and I'm gravitating to 2020.1., but am not sure.

Thanks!

Sebastian.

Here's one opinion ( make's me think of the old saw: if you want 10 answers to a question about economics just ask 3 economists.

If you are new to FPGA development and have already purchased a development board, I'd suggest installing the version of the tools that were used to create the vendor's demo projects. This will reduce the time, complexity, and unknowns for rebuilding the demo.

Fortunately, Digilent has a few such demos for most of its boards. Unfortunately, it's not likely that all of them will have been built using the same version of the tools. This should be useful information about FPGA development. FPGA vendors have a bad habit of breaking designs using older versions of their tools, especially if they are dependent on that vendor's IP and GUI 'drag and drop' design flow. Most vendors demos do use that flow because it's what the vendors prefer, or they imagine that creating HDL code to show their customers that all of the devices on their boards actually do work is a bad investment. The truth is that, for the most part, if they just made the initial investment in creating HDL sources for their boards interfaces maintaining demos through vendor's tool versions would be a whole lot easier... and there would be no issues over the years as tool versions are released.