Systematic approach for Verilog implementation

tnet

Question

Hello,

As I am a novice to Verilog/SystemVerilog, I am seeking for some guidance regarding writing Verilog logic from purely just a timing diagram. (You may have seen my other posts).

For example, if my goal is to implement a logical block that has X inputs and Y outputs for the DUT, and all I am given is a timing diagram that shows the behavior of the input and output signals and how they behave according to the supplied clock. What is the best way to tackle this problem from an engineering perspective?

Should I be considering to first simply layout the module with the inputs and outputs and see how the timing diagram behaves and try to implement the logic based off of that?

Or should I be first be treating this as a "state machine" and draw a systematic schematic of showing all the inputs and outputs, showing when they should go HIGH or LOW at their certain times? Are timing diagrams usually implemented in a state machine logical flow?

Was hoping to gain some knowledge and understanding from the people who are experienced writing Verilog logic based off of timing diagrams and was hoping to see your systematic approach of how it should be implemented as if I was an engineer. 

Thank You.

2 answers to this question

Hi,

I'm sure there will be some long follow-up answers. I specialize in short answers, so here we go ?

Engineers are frighteningly unsystematic. What engineers are good at is cutting corners.

Either you're completely in over your head, or you are facing an easy problem. For easy problems, engineers do a quick sketch on a paper napkin (skip if no napkin is available) and start coding.

So what you need is the Verilog skills to write down a FSM. Essentially, it might look like this

reg [7:0] state = 8'd0
always @(posedge clk) begin
  switch (state)
	case 8'd0: if (something) then begin ... state <= 8'd1; end
	case 8'd1: if (something) then begin ... state <= 8'd2; end
  endcase