Program Older Fpga Board With Jtag 3

Alex

Question

Here is a question a customer about programming JTAG 3 with older FPGA board. Can someone help on this? 

Questions
I was wondering if I could use the JTAG 3 cable to program older digilent fpga boards that use the 6 pin connector?
I understand that the connector is different, but if I hook up the right signals from the 14-pin connector to the right pins in the older 6-pin header, that should work as well right?

6 answers to this question

Hi Jordi,

That's alright, we all make mistakes sometimes. I am by no means an FPGA expert, so I'll need sbobrowicz to confirm my answer but here is my understanding:

After checking out the reference manual for the JTAG-HS3, I believe the reason that this is a pure 14 pin cable is so that the Zynq-7000 chip on ZYBO boards is able to be programmed correctly since that pin (pin 14) needs to be connected to pin 14 of the JTAG header and driven low at the appropriate times. Because the header is a 2x7, the 1x6 connector naturally cannot connect to all 7 pins simultaneously so the board is programmed correctly.

That being said, if you are programming a different board that only requires the 6 pins, I would think that in theory you could individually route the signals from the HS3 to the 6-pin MTE connector with wires, although I don't know how this would affect the programming since it's hard to guarentee the wires are the same impedance so that signals pass through at the correct times and whatnot.

The main issue, at least from my point of view, is that the pins on the HS3 and a 6-pin compatible cable (like the JTAG-HS1) are not in the same physical location, so you would not be able to plug in the 6-pin MTE connector straight into the HS3 and have it work correctly. Again, you maybe could route the wires individually, but that might result in some iffy programming; I have never personally tried this.