Analog Video Project - advice on FPGA wanted.

tonybarry

Howdy to the Digilent-using people,

Tony Barry writing.  I am new to FPGA, but have a fairly strong background in EE and microcontrollers, C and assembler (mainly x86 but also Atmel AVR).

My project is pro-bono for the amateur astronomy (occultation observing) community.  Briefly, the occultation community observe the passage of asteroids in front of (generally dim) stars, and time the moment of eclipse and the moment of reappearance using strict UT timestamps to determine the position and possibly the shape of the asteroid from the knowledge of the time of the event, and the position of the observer on the earth.

This information is passed on to the Minor Planet Center in Arizona for making improved ephemerides of asteroids, and sometimes to other science folk for various reasons.  One recent occultation that gained some press was that of 2014 MU69 (the next target for the New Horizons probe after Pluto).  You can read the story in the science press here:-

https://www.space.com/37221-epic-success-observing-pluto-probe-next-target.html

http://pluto.jhuapl.edu/Mission/KBO-Chasers.php

Anyway, on to the point of this post.  The limiting factor in occultation observing is the ability to see the target star (yes, that's obvious ... ) and there are two determinants of how dim a star you can see. Dimmer stars require bigger telescopes, and/or higher quantum efficiency cameras with lower noise.  Amateurs do not have access to the budgets of professional scientists, so the telescope size is limited both by cost and by the ability to physically move a large heavy telescope.  The camera cost is also limited.