USB 2408 not working in Dasylab in new installation

Niels Skat Tiedje

Question

Hi,

I have been using a USB 2408 board with Dasylab 12 for several years without problems. Unfortunately, the computer I used died some time ago. I now have a new one with Windows 11 and then something has gone wrong.

Instacal finds the USB2408 easily if I use the latest version (the older versions do not seem to work).

When I test the module in Instacal, I get readings that are perfectly fine.

However, when I set up Dasylab to acquire data from the equipment, I get more or less random results. This happens both with single ended and differential setup.

I have a USB Temp module also. It works very well in the new setup, also in Dasylab.

Can you help me with this?

Best regards Niels

7 answers to this question

Using DASYLab 12 on Windows 11 is unsupported. However, if the USB-TEMP returns good values, the USB-2408 should, too. Could you let me know what you're using for a signal input? It's probably a ground issue.

Thanks for the reply.

I use Dataforth double insulated thermocouple module they are in a rack with 6 channels. Each module gives a 0 to 5 V output.

I have not done any changes to the physical installation of the amplifiers and the USB2408. It is all mounted in a steel cabinet which is connected to the mains ground.

Was this the information you are asking for?

Best regards Niels

InstaCal uses a lot of averaging when performing the analog loopback test. Besides setting the channel to single-ended mode, could you try using 60 for the data rate? This will act like averaging and providing smoother data. As always, you should close InstaCal before starting DASYLab. 

I just tried to set Instacal to 60 (Hz) and run in single endend mode.

While the reading in Instacal was very stable at about 0.6V which it should be for the temperature that the thermocouples are held at, then DasyLab gave very noisy results.