Implimenting Etherent on the Zybo Z7 development board

evers4

Question

I'm working with a Zybo Z7 development board and trying to implement Ethernet. I'm new to Ethernet and have been looking for an example project that utilizes it.

The example design for the (AXI 1G/2.5G Ethernet Subsystem) is quite bare bones and I don't see how to configure it for the Zybo. Addtionally, I'm looking connect the Ethernet Subsystem to an existing project that generates bytes. I'm attempting to have those bytes streamed to a PC. My plan is to utiize a python script to capture this data.

Thank you so much!

Chris

Hi Chris,

The Ethernet PHY on the Zybo Z7 is connected to Zynq PS instead of the PL (the subsystem IP would potentially be used if it was on the PL side). This means that there are very few steps required to get a Vivado project that will support Ethernet - the board preset applied during block automation already enables Ethernet.

This tutorial for running Xilinx's LWIP TCP echo server example was recently updated: https://digilent.com/reference/programmable-logic/guides/zynq-servers, and this blog post extends off of it to do pretty much exactly what you are talking about with streaming bytes back up to a host via a Python script: https://digilent.com/blog/getting-out-of-the-echo-chamber-transferring-data-over-ethernet-using-zynq/.

Thanks,

Arthur

18 hours ago, artvvb said:

Hi Chris,

The Ethernet PHY on the Zybo Z7 is connected to Zynq PS instead of the PL (the subsystem IP would potentially be used if it was on the PL side). This means that there are very few steps required to get a Vivado project that will support Ethernet - the board preset applied during block automation already enables Ethernet.