Eclypse Z7 questions

rainwater

Hello everyone

About me

I have never worked with an fpga before a few weeks ago (tang nano 9k) and have been researching the basics of fpga's to see how practical my next hobby project is.

Ive been coding c for over 25 years (windows/linux) and arduinos for about 10.

My main area of focus is industrial controls, manufacturing equipment, networking and process automation. I interface with a lot of plc's, modbus systems, and sensor arrays.

Why am I here

it was recommended that I look into the Eclypse Z7 to run my next big project. I have a rough idea how much "horse power" I need. And from what I have read so far about this board, it will have more than enough.

I am needing a highspeed adc (+100msps), lots of storage(16g@+100MB/s), dsp and FFT processing and an mcu to run the user interface and post processing of the data collected.

What I want to do.

1) Push a button to launch a procedure 

2) control the timing and firing sequence of a few external appratus with high precision.

3) Store the adc data to the sdcard along with time stamps.

4) begin post-processing of the collected data

Questions

1) Can the 1gig ddr3 ram be accessed by the mcu and fpga? If so, can the same data be shared between the two? Answer: Yes. Page 8, https://docs.xilinx.com/v/u/en-US/ds190-Zynq-7000-Overview

2) what is the maxium write speed of the micro sd socket? with the appropriate micro sd card, will it support uhs-i?

4) are there any additional i/o pins, not connected to the pmod or zmod sockets available for use? Not counting the leds or buttons.

Edited by rainwater

Hi @rainwater

1) Can the 1gig ddr3 ram be accessed by the mcu and fpga? If so, can the same data be shared between the two? Answer: Yes. Page 8, https://docs.xilinx.com/v/u/en-US/ds190-Zynq-7000-Overview