Windows recognises ECLYPSE Z7 board incorrectly as a Trion board in device manager

mikemikemike

Question

I had been using my ECLYPSE Z7 board successfully for several months until I had to switch and work for a few weeks on a different non FPGA related project. I have been using  Vivado v2019.1 to develop my project . Today I tried to reconnect to my ECLYPSE Z7 board through Vivado hardware manager >open target so I could load and run my code but Vivado is refusing to connect to the board, reports unconnected.  When I check in Windows Device manager to see if it sees the Eclypse Z7 board being connected on USB , Window's Device manager says I am plugging in a Trion T20 board??  I played with one of them last year before I moved to the ECLYPSE Z7 with the ZYNQ-7000 processor but have not connected to it for over 5 months . I do not understand why Windows is wrongly recognising the ECLYPSE board as a Trion T20 board.  What got broken and how do I fix it so I can talk to the ECLYPSE and run my code ? Note I was not using Vivado to talk to the Trion board it had some other software. So I don't think it is Vivado that is getting confused, it must be a Windows thing :(.  I am running Windows 10PRO v22H2. 

Thanks

Mike 

Edited by mikemikemike

8 answers to this question

Yikes!

Well the place to start is with Windows because that's where USB enumeration happens. Windows Device Manager is pretty useless for seeing what's going on. I use usbview, which can be obtained from the FTDI downloads as a utility. This is much more informative about what exactly is attached to the USB host hubs. You might give that a try.