USB-1208FS-Plus as a replacement for USB-1208FS

Rhodes

Question

I've been using USB-1208FS since around 2007. It is part of a device we manufacture, with a couple hundred units around the world. Our device contains a single board computer running Windows XP Embedded, Instacal 5.72, and our custom software created using LabVIEW.

Now that USB-1208FS is no longer available, I had hoped USB-1208FS-Plus would work as an exact replacement. But Instacal 5.72 doesn't find the -Plus board. Instacal 6.35 and 6.73 get mostly installed but then report that the installation is "interrupted". The icalsetup installers for Instacal 6.55 thru 6.72 don't run at all. Only Instacal 6.27 gets fully installed and sees the -Plus board. I can then set the "Identifier" (is this the same as "Custom Serial No." in Instacal 5.72?) and configure for 8 Single Ended channels.

But my software freezes when it calls UL-LabVIEW commands with the -Plus board.

Is it possible to configure a USB-1208FS-Plus such that UL LabVIEW treats it exactly like a USB-1208FS?

15 answers to this question

Measurement Computing is no longer providing active support for Windows XP embedded.  Microsoft terminated support for that OS on January 12, 2016.

It is unfortunate. 

InstaCal 5.72 (2007) was released many years before there was a USB-1208FS-PLUS (2012).  It was first released in InstaCal 6.24.  That version is available for you to try:

https://mcc.download.ni.com/Archive/InstaCal/Archive_6.24/icalsetup.exe

2 hours ago, Rhodes said:

Is it possible to configure a USB-1208FS-Plus such that UL LabVIEW treats it exactly like a USB-1208FS?

Sorry no, though they are very similar, there is no way to configure the USB-1208FS-PLUS to be a USB-1208FS.

13 hours ago, Jeffrey said:

Sorry no, though they are very similar, there is no way to configure the USB-1208FS-PLUS to be a USB-1208FS.