Connecting Analog Discovery2 to Breadboard Circuit

TechAB

Question

I am new to Digilent & Analog Discovery2. However, I've seen videos on how to Analog Discovery works but I don't clearly understand a general technique on how to connect the Analog Discovery2 to a circuit on a breadboard.  Where does the following pins go on a circuit on a breadboard                     

+/- Channel 1 pins-orange/orange-white,            +/- Channel 2 pins - blue/blue-white

and +/- V: Power Supply - red/ white pins .

The only one that seems obvious is V+.  I know this will seem like the answer is an obvious one, but I truly would appreciate the help. Thanks in advance, plus I attached a circuit as an example. 

Thanks again,

TechAB          

AnalogDiscovery2 question 1.docx

Edited by TechAB

1 answer to this question

Hi @TechAB,

Where you end up choosing to connect the pins will depend on what you are trying to measure. I will see if I can help make the idea a bit more clear with some examples though.

V+, as you appear to have intuited, is a positive power supply which will provide a constant voltage to a circuit. It will usually go where Vcc is located. I don't know if you attached a random circuit as an example, but I will note that the Analog Discovery 2 can only provide up to +5 V on its V+ pin so it would not be able to be used on the +12 V on the Vcc listed in the schematic diagram you attached; you would need a separate power supply for that.

V- is a negative power supply; most circuits do not use a negative power supply so this particular pin is usually left unconnected.