Differences between schematic and .xdc

Hi All,

I am fairly new to FPGA (but not hardware), coming from a mainly software background.

I am developing within Vivado.

I am having problems identifying the correct pins for Pmod connectors on my Nexys A7.

There are differences between the circuit diagram and the .XDC file for the board. I am wondering which of the two to go by because I do not want to accidentally assign output to a pin which may cause problems if it was not meant to be assigned to. So far I have seen differences within JA and JB. most discrepancies are with JB

JB XDC & circuit diagram assignments.

XDC        Circuit        FPGA pin
B3            B4            H14
B4            B7            E16
B5            B8            F13
B6            B9            G13
B7            B3            G16

I would be grateful if someone knows which one to go for (now and the future).

Many thanks,

Stephen.

Hi @Kabs,

Which version of the Nexys A7 are you looking at?

I'm comparing the schematic of the Nexys A7 (available here, https://digilent.com/reference/programmable-logic/nexys-a7/start#documentation, all of the pinouts each of the D.X revisions are the same) to the Nexys A7 .xdc file that is available on our Github (https://github.com/Digilent/digilent-xdc) and as far as I can tell each of the Pmod pins are matching which FPGA pin they are assigned to.

I've attached a screenshot (with added highlighting on the relevant Pmod pins from page 7 of the Nexys A7 schematic) as reference of what I am comparing to the pin assignments from the .xdc file (https://github.com/Digilent/digilent-xdc/blob/master/Nexys-A7-100T-Master.xdc#L84) image.png

Thanks,
JColvin

Hi JColvin,

Thanks for the response.

Unfortunately there is absolute disagreement between assignments on my board and XDC/circuit diagram versions.

By trial and error I have managed to place most of the pins for JA & JB as you see below paired with what the XDC/circuit says.