Interfacing PMOD WIFI with VIVADO 2018.2

HAZIQ

Question

Hello, I have a few question on how to interfacing the PMOD WIFI with the FPGA. So basically my aim is to transmit and receive data from one FPGA to the other. I am planning to use this PMOD WIFI to make this happen. As I'm new to this kind of things, I'll appreciate any suggestion that can help me. Im using Nexys4 DDR board. So this is my question.

1) I have followed a tutorial video on how to interface this PMOD WIFI with FPGA but it seems like my board is not the same with the video. In the video, the MIG have a clock reference port, but for my board there in no clock reference port. Should i add this clock reference port or not ? 

image.png.de8bc59029af0b9e670956867f5264e6.png

2) In the video that i have watch, the author use pmod sd card, do i need this on my board ?

3) Any suggestion on how to communicate between this two FPGA ?

14 answers to this question

Hi @HAZIQ,

You will want an updated version of Digilent's board files to get an updated version; there is a guide on how to do this here: https://digilent.com/reference/programmable-logic/guides/installing-vivado-and-vitis#install_digilent_s_board_files. During board creation, you will want to select the Nexys A7 rather than the Nexys 4 DDR; this is because the Nexys 4 DDR was rebranded to the Nexys A7; it is otherwise the same board.

You will want the SD card if you want to use the demo material that we have for the Pmod WiFi (which sets up a http server whose html contents are defined on the SD card).

The Pmod WiFi does have TCP echo server and clients (as well as UDP versions) though I have not personally attempted these with a pair of WiFI modules, but they would be one way that you can facilitate communication between two boards, or set up a situation where one Pmod WiFi hosts an HTTP server and puts some board data on the server and then another board connects to that same IP and reads data from that hosted site.