Zybo Z7 USB UART BRIDGE (SERIAL PORT)

Sanket

Question

Hello All, 
I am new to FPGA field, I am using Vivado to program my fpga. I have succesfully programmed the zybo z7 fpga with basic logic gates and I was able to control inputs using switches and push buttons present on board.

My next aim is to program  " An 2 input AND gate and control the inputs from my PC"

1) Is this possible to do using zybo z7 board? XC7Z020-1CLG400c

2)Is there any tutorial or link which describes steps for something similar need not to be exactly "and gate program"

3)Is any external connection required to achieve this?

It would be great assist if I would get some info about basic steps required to achieve the aim

Thank You

6 answers to this question

Unfortunately, for simple basic beginner's projects like yours, the ZYNQ architecture just gets in the way and makes such projects like yours more complicated.

For a "2 input AND gate" project you really don't need a PC connection. But when you want to control a more complicated design you will need a more complicated user interface. 

The easiest way to connect your board to a PC is the PS UART. But, for now, you really just want to create some logic and control that from a PC. The good news is that yes you can do that. For $15 or less you can buy a 3V compatible TTL USB UART cable or breakout board from either Sparkfun or Adafruit. You only need 2 pins on a PMOD connector and an HDL UART component to achieve your aim. In this case the ARM cores are idle an not involved. No ARM software design. The best way to do the design is with VHDL or Verilog.