Schematic Info

User5717

Question

On the schematic for the Arty S7-50 there is a VCC1V8 going to VCCAUX as shown below.

image.png.45e3763328e03d184f5d852e1a888677.png

What is the purpose of VCCAUX? Some documentation I've read on the board label it as 1.8V power supply for auxiliary circuits as shown below.

image.png.dd3f87bdcec5143bb837bb032a8f83f1.png

Does auxiliary circuitry imply internal to the FPGA?

Is this voltage to VCCAUX needed for the FPGA functionality?

Can this pin be used via a 3.3V or 1.0V supply?

This is my first time designing a custom PCB which is why I am wondering if these voltages are necessary.

Thank you! 

4 answers to this question

55 minutes ago, User5717 said:

This is my first time designing a custom PCB which is why I am wondering if these voltages are necessary.

Tip: Don't solicit random responses to questions about PCB design questions if you are new at this, and hoping that someone answers questions that you haven't thought of. Also don't copy someone else's designs. Do read any literature that you can get a hold of regarding board design considerations from device vendors. There's plenty available and you should not restrict your search to one vendors. Do you homework before starting a PCB design not after trying to bring up new boards that are having problems. The first topic on your list would be power supplies.

Edited by zygot

13 minutes ago, zygot said:

Tip: Don't solicit random responses to questions about PCB design questions if you are new at this, and hoping that someone answers questions that you haven't thought of. Also don't copy someone else's designs. Do read any literature that you can get a hold of regarding board design considerations from device vendors. There's plenty available and you should not restrict your search to one vendors. Do you homework before starting a PCB design not after trying to bring up new boards that are having problems. The first topic on your list would be power supplies.