FPGA for network protocol conversion

rompish

Hi,

I am brand new to FPGA topic and i feel lost in the amount of boards and possibilities for them. I wanted to know if anyone could help me identify what board would suit my idea:

I would like to have an Ethernet input and an Ethernet output so that my FPGA algorithm could normalize several network protocols (stock exchanges) into a unified protocol and send it out. I would also like to be able to store data on my board and be able to send this data at will.

I would also like to know the limitations of how much data can one FPGA card handle and how is it determined. For example on a regular machine it is determined by how fast Network Card buffers are filled VS how fast app/kernel can pick this data from the buffer - i was wondering how it is determined in FPGA.

Please let me know if it makes sense and if it is something FPGA is well suited for.

Thanks!

Hi,

I can tell you this much that estimating required FPGA size is a challenging topic in general. Chances are high that an abstract analysis that's not based on experience will completely miss the point.

For the PC, I think you are describing operating system overhead, not hardware limitations. Before I'd consider FPGA, I'd have a look at a bare-metal implementation, which can probably be approximated by editing the network card driver in a linux distribution (e.g. use one CPU core per inbound card and keep it in a spinlock  waiting for data to avoid the slow context switch etc on interrupt). If your code runs otherwise from cache, a modern e.g. 5 GHz CPU is a force to be reckoned with.

The issue with PC is that to handle several 10G lines of data coming at capacity I have to use

1. special network cards with kernel bypass, 2. Many cores on the machine