Help needed on adding a custom app to Petalinux for CoraZ7-10

jmccabe

Question

I'm just starting out with the CoraZ7-10 and having what seems like a weird issue.

I've followed the getting started stuff at https://github.com/Digilent/Petalinux-Cora-Z7-10 to the letter and packaged up a BOOT.bin and image.ub that loads and boots fine. I now want to try a simple custom application, so followed the instructions to the letter in the section "Creating and Adding Custom Applications" (for a C++ app) in the Petalinux reference guide for 2017.4 (https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2017_4/ug1144-petalinux-tools-reference-guide.pdf), followed by the "Building User Application" section (as far as the 4 commands that are preceded by "To build myapp into an existing system image:"; I assumed the bulleted stuff after that is optional).

At the end of all that I have to re-run the petalinux-package command to get a BOOT.BIN and image.ub out as necessary.

However, when I use the files built at this point, the CoraZ7-10 gets stuck at "Starting kernel ...".

I'm hoping that someone can spot whether there's something I'm missing!

Please feel free to ask for more details; I'm new to this so, if there's something you need, you might have to tell me the command I need to use to get it (sorry about that).

John

3 answers to this question

From "Building User Application" section running  `petalinux-build` command is the only required step. This will trigger the build for petalinux-user-image which in turn will trigger the build for your c++ app. After a successful build the components get packed then installed in the rootfs.  Then the rootfs gets included in image.ub.

The issue you have found can be solved by issuing:

$ petalinux-build -x mrproper   #clean entire build output

$ petalunix-build    #build linux image which includes your newly added component since it is included in rootfs