Hello world like example for Digilent Nexys A7?

aeon20

Question

Hi everyone, I'm a beginner and I'd like to just get up and running with my Nexys A7. This is my first FPGA board, and I'm a complete beginner. I don't have any particular goal in mind at the moment beyond learning and getting some very simple example running. I prefer to learn by actual code that works, modifying it and using that as a basis for learning, rather than just reading a comprehensive manual.

What should I do? I thought I'd find a hello world example, but it seems hard to find anything at all that gives a step-by-step tutorial for how to get anything to run on the Nexys A7.

If anyone could share a tutorial for how to do something very simple, such as turn on a LED on the board, that would be awesome.

I have Vivado installed on Ubuntu 18.04, the application seems to be working. My board is a Nexys A7 with an Artix-7 100T CSG324.

22 answers to this question

@aeon20,

I have found that two specific steps help me avoid missing a lot of silly bugs when using Verilog.

• Place a line: `default_nettype none // at the top of every Verilog file.  If vendor IP fails as a result, you might wish to place: `default_nettype wire // at the end of your file
  • Run : verilator -Wall -cc module.v // This will do a more intensive lint-type check for more subtle errors--thing like wrong bit widths, assigning to inputs, etc.  It's also very fast, and it can return more than one error at a time.  Indeed, it's much faster than Vivado since, usually by the time Vivado starts, Verilator has completed its check.  Even better, Vivado will only ever return one error at a time whereas Verilator may return many.  (Makes me wonder if Vivado expects that the engineers using it are getting paid by the hour ...)

Dan

I'm stoked.

I finally have a working development environment, and the hardware manager recognizes my board.