Hello!

oliviersohn

Hello!

I'm a FPGA newbie, I just purchased an Arty A7 from Amazon (the 35T version and received the 100T version - lucky me !!) and will be trying to run an audio convolution reverb on it... Well, at least that's the goal, first I'll try to power it on I guess :)

I had a question regarding the sticker that's on top of the FPGA chip: I assume I should remove it, in case it gets hot, but didn't see any instruction to do that anywhere, is there a documentation I've missed?

Cheers,

Olivier

Hi,

I'm not aware of any such instructions. It's a valid concern if you fully use the MAC capabilities of a 100T but burning an FPGA would be fairly low on my list of things to worry about.
If in doubt, you can enable automatic thermal shutdown by instantiating an XADC (see page 68 of https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/user_guides/ug480_7Series_XADC.pdf).

A convolution reverb is a pretty good fit to the chip, not necessarily commercially viable but easy to implement. You'll have no difficulty to mux e.g 1000 audio sample MACs at 96 kHz on a single hardware multiplier (of which there are 160, but the block RAMS will most likely be the bottleneck). 25 bit data path and 18 bit coefficients seems the logical choice, especially since RAM comes in multiples of 9 bits, not 8 (the "parity bit").

My guess is that the supporting infrastructure (e.g. how to upload coefficients into RAM unless you want one audio sample "hard-coded", interfacing with the codec) is much more work than a brute-force convolution algorithm. A possibility is to assign one side of the dual port RAM to the convolution algorithm, the other side to configuration.

...speaking of which: a minimum-phase transform is easily done in e.g. Octave, simply roots(), and mirror selected zeros to the other side of the unity circle (mag := 1/mag)