I'm new to LabView

Galaxywatcher1

Question

Does the HOME edition of LabView work on Windows Vista?

Very IMPORTANT - How many personal computers at home can I install HOME edition of LabView?

My husband and I both have a desktop and a laptop.
However, the machine I want to put it on is a HP running Windows Vista.

If I got a new computer running Windows 10, would that work???

You didn’t send me the USB cable, which I will be buying myself; I am grateful for your fast shipping.
This LabView is very exciting for me, as a hobbyist and disabled person who is trying to keep her mind sharp so I won’t lose my mind due to degenerative diseases.  I remember the story of a piano teacher in her 90’s who saved her brain.  Also, my own mother’s mother developed a NY crossword puzzle dictionary, which is lost forever, but it kept her mind sharp.  There is nothing more exciting to me than electronics and computers, and software.

2 answers to this question

Dear Galaxywatcher1,

I went and checked out National Instruments website to find this answer. LabView will run on Windows XP SP3. But I did find this tid-bit of information at the bottom of the page.

For full support on Windows XP, Service Pack 3 (SP3) or higher must be used.
LabVIEW will drop support for Microsoft Windows XP, Windows Vista, and Windows Server 2003 as of July 1, 2016. Versions of LabVIEW that ship after July 

It will also run on Windows Vista up to Windows 8.1. Here's the system requirements page: http://www.ni.com/labview/os-support/  || http://www.ni.com/labview/requirements/ . As for working on Windows 10 I can't seem to find a solid answer for that right now. It appears that they are working on it and it might already be compatible but just to be safe I would wait a bit before trying to use windows 10 with LabView. Windows 10 just came out so it might take them some time to get LabView going on it.