Booting the Linaro filesystem on Zybo

mikemcg

Question

I'm a newbie to embedded development. I've worked through the linux hands on tutorial and have been successful at bringing up linux on the ramdisk as per the tutorial.

What I really want is a ubuntu desktop working on the Zybo board. I have loaded the Linaro filesystem onto the sd card (as per the zed board examples) but still the Zybo insists on trying to load from a ramdisk.  I have changed the chosen bootargs in the devicetree to

bootargs = "console=ttyPS0,115200 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rw earlyprintk rootfstype=ext4 rootwait devtmpfs.mount=1"

Is there something else I need to do in say the config file or uboot.elf to get it to use the filesystem from the ext4 partition rather than the ramfile?

In using Vivado 2014.4 and SDK 2014.4.

Thanks Mike.

11 answers to this question

Hi Mike,

I'm on a work trip right now, so I don't have the time/access to properly post all of the sources for that project, but I can get you the Vivado project and devicetree. You will need to ignore the warnings on the Vivado project, it has not been cleaned fully. I've posted them on dropbox here:

Vivado project: https://www.dropbox.com/s/8ldvbwd66k0i94d/zybo_bsd_hdmi.zip?dl=0

Devicetree source: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ilwddtkzn2gdcmj/zybo_robot_dts.zip?dl=0

Inside of the sdk folder in the vivado project you will find a bootgen folder that contains u-boot.elf, so you can regenerate boot.bin if you modify the vivado project.

You will have to use the prebuilt kernel for now that is included with the robot project, because it contains the custom video driver for which the source has not been posted yet. Unfortunately the driver requires an EDID packet,  so it only works with HDMI. This will be changed before the source gets posted.

Hi Mike,