Nexys Video still a good starting point?

I purchased a Nexys Video board a few years ago, for my son, for a college course. I ran across it a few weeks ago and I am thinking about dusting it off.

Anyway I would like to begin my journey with FPGA's and want to see if this is a good starting point for a FPFG noob? Or if there is a better starting point? Youtube is pretty poor for FPGA topic. Most are quit old. I do have 20 years experience as a network engineer and a lot of linux. :) 

Please let me know your thoughts. Thank you for your time.

There's no reason not to start learning FPGA development with a Nexys Video board, if you have one lying around. It has the largest Artix device there is and a lot of useful external functionality; decent DDR3, Ethernet PHY, DPTI USB 2.0, an FMC connector, etc.

This depends on what your expectations are for your self-taught FPGA journey will encompass. If you'd rather do C programming and ease into actual logic design later, a cheap ZYNQ might be what you want. This path is more comfortable for people with a strong software background. Of course there's a soft-processor approach like MicroBaze or RISC-V. An RPI4 has a lot more horsepower than even a UltraScale ZYNQ board that's affordable , and you can manipulate IO pins to control external hardware; so you'd have to ask why even bother with struggling with the complicated Vitis/Vivado tool flow. For ZYNQ, some functionality requires running a Linux disto on your hardware and that involves even more complicated tools that must be run on a Linux host.