DDR3 memory interface with Zybo Board

Prabhat.kumar

Question

Hi all,

I have got a Zybo board. I am trying to explore the SDRAM available on the board which turns out to be two of these MT41J128M16JT-125, arranged such that they the data lines become 32bit wide, giving a total of 512MB of memory.  While reading through the reference manual, it says that "The PS incorporates an AXI memory port interface, a DDR controller, the associated PHY, and a dedicated I/O bank. DDR3 memory interface speeds up to 533 MHz/1066 Mbps are supported¹."

However I think the 1066Mbps should be changed with 1066 MT/s. This is because the DDR RAM transfers data twice in each clock cycle. Please correct me here. I am a newbie in using DRAM with FPGAs, so it would great if you all elaborate a bit in the answer.

Thank you.

10 answers to this question

For a PHY clock of 533 MHz 1066 Mbps is correct in terms of the data rate per DQ pin. 1066 MT/s is also correct. The actual data rate depends on the width of the DQ data bus, so neither the Mbps or MT/s performance specification has much meaning without knowing the later.

I'm not sure what you mean by "exploring the SDRAM available on the board". It's possible to change the memory controller setting registers but this is not recommended. In general PL designs can DMA data to and from the PS external memory, or internal PS memory using the PS AXI infrastructure.Of course these memories can be used by applications running in the PS ARM cores. If both the ARM cores and the PL are sharing a memory resource there will be performance penalties.

Reading the board Reference Manual is great. Before trying to understand what you can do with your board you should read all of the relevant reference material associated with the ZYNQ FPGA device on you board as well as the documents related to using the programmable logic in its PL. Edited by zygot

15 minutes ago, zygot said: