GPU -> FPGA via DisplayPort Video Interface

cat416b

Hi, I am new to FPGAs and looking at sending GPU-generated video data to a FPGA through a DisplayPort video interface. I would like it to eventually support transfer rates of up to 25 Gbits/sec. Any suggestions about FPGA types and add-on cards needed to do this would be greatly appreciated. Ideally, I would like the FPGA to define an EDID so that it essentially acts as a monitor allowing the GPU to be connected directly to it.

Thanks and any information that helps me get started on this project would be great.

Hi @cat416b,

Digilent does not have any devices with a DisplayPort sink. (The Genesys 2 does have a DisplayPort sink, but the DisplayPort IP since 2015 or so now requires a particular piece of hardware which the Genesys 2 does not have so I would not recommend using the board in this instance) Any development help will be beyond the scope of what the Digilent staff provide here on our Forum.

I would recommend looking for a board that is dedicated towards video applications and supports DisplayPort 1.3 or later (since Wikipedia tells me that is the oldest revision that supports a total data rate of at least 25 Gbit/sec) and ensuring that whatever high speed transceiver data lines that port is connected to can support the appropriate rate.

I do not know if you are intending to use a vendor provided IP or develop your own solution (I imagine you're intending to further process the GPU data on the FPGA/SoC), but this will not be an easy process. It's certainly possible, as one of the primary features of an FPGA is that you can reconfigure it's hardware to suit your needs, high speed applications require precise hardware design to ensure an accurate and stable system (especially one that has a standardized protocol).

Thanks,
JColvin

2 hours ago, JColvin said: