Zybo Z7-10 Camera Compatibility

Hi, I am very new to FPGAs, but I am assisting someone with a project of theirs and my hope was to figure out if the newest Zybo Z7-10 is compatible with other MIPI CSI-2 cameras and not just the Pcam 5C. Apologies if this sounds like a rudimentary question, but if its more complicated than just mere compatibility please do let me know as I am eager to learn. In case it's relevant, I hope to use the Zybo Z7-10 to control an Alvium 1500 C-210m camera from Allied Vision.

Hi @Robert Freeman,

So, the Zybo Z7-10 should be physically and electrically compatible with other MIPI CSI-2 cameras.

What board does not have though is an existing application that will be able to control and manipulate the various registers inside a different camera module at the correct clock frequencies and timings required by the camera's manufacturer. Because of these differences, it will not be a straight-forward process to get the camera you mentioned to work with the Zybo Z7-10.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks,
JColvin

Thank you very much for your response. In that case, I was wondering if the same board would be capable of using a different interface such as USB 3.0 to communicate with a camera? If not, does Digilent provide a board that can?

Moreover, is there any benefit to using MIPI CSI-2 over another interface (USB 3.0, IEEE 1394 A/B, etc.)?

Sorry for all the questions, but I think the one I’m most curious about is if there is a board and an interface that would be more straightforward to use? To elaborate, does Digilent provide an FPGA that can more readily configure and set up a camera other than the Pcam? I can’t imagine that people solely rely on the Pcam for all of their projects, but I definitely could be wrong.

Hi @Robert Freeman,

I'll be up front in saying that I can't imagine these will be the answers you are hoping for, but here we go.