Need help. Bitstream does not work for Software Only or Hardware Only programs.

April 7, 2022

Dear Anyone Out There Willing to Help, 

Hello. This is Josh Sparber. I am a retired System Engineer, with an MSEE who is rerouting his career into  Embedded Tech. A fellow researcher and I are forming a business and we both intend to incorporate Embedded Tech into our research.

Working with the Artix-7 100T Nexsys board I have many questions.

There has been some discrepancy in the literature, and although I have both a USB dual ended cable and a converter with a phone-style input for power, and I seem to get 5 volts on the board as needed for power, I am wondering if the power inputs I have are correct. I have the onboard jumper for USB set. Some current problems are making me wonder about this. I keep seeing a 7 to 12 volt converter is needed; although this may not be a problem, it may be. In addition I have a JTAG cable for which I have soldered a plug onto the board, if JTAG is needed. 

On both the available introductory programs, the Hardware Only and the Software Only I have had problems generating a Bitstream for both of these programs. I was seriously wondering if this related to the power input. In addition, the book I had obtained on the Artix 7 Nexsys was either so out of date that Mr. Colvin didn’t recognize it, or it is a rogue imitation of the book that is needed. or since everything now seems to be on line, the other, younger  techies don’t recognize it. This brings up other questions—maybe the board itself is a rogue imitation. That is why the Bitstream doesn’t work? I am taking a picture of the board itself so this can be verified.