FPGA based Fast ADC implementation

Shobino

Question

Hi Guys,

I am totally new to FPGA. I have been using Microcontrollers for all my designs.

I am planning to design a data acquisition board with a >20 MHz parallel ADC(eg: LTC2296) which must sample sine wave frequencies up to 1MHz.

Most of the high speed ADC evaluation boards I referred are coupled with an FPGA board for data acquisition. So I came to the conclusion that it might be convenient to use an FPGA for my design too.

But, I have no idea where to start. Kindly give suggestions on a suitable FPGA evaluation board for beginners. Ultimately, it must be possible to interface the above mentioned parallel ADC to the FPGA board and start collecting data samples.

If anybody has already done such an application, please share the details/link.

Thank you.

Shobino

5 answers to this question

1 hour ago, Shobino said:

Ultimately, it must be possible to interface the above mentioned parallel ADC to the FPGA board and start collecting data samples.

You are committed to the LTC2296? I assume that you want to use the analog devices EVB for that device?

Designing ADC boards isn't trivial. Jumping into the FPGA development flow from a Micro-controller design flow won't be easy.

A lot depends on your application. In theory, buying an ADI ADC EVB that can be connected to an FPGA board using a "standard" connector like the FMC or HSMC might be an easier path, if ADI has pre-built projects for a particular combination of EVB/FPGA platform that suits you needs. There are a lot of potential pitfalls waiting for the unwary. In general ADI has good FPGA support for it's products, but this is limited.

Digilent makes a few FPGA boards with SYZYGY interfaces as well as 14-bit dual 100 MHz ADC pods that are well designed for general purpose applications. I wouldn't say that these are suitable for beginners though. The Eclypse-Z7 is, in my opinion, particularly not well suited to beginners.