Basys 3 speed?

Stick

I'm brand new to this so forgive me if this is a super basic question. I'm trying to follow the abacus example video, but I get stuck right away when choosing the part for the project. I have a Basys 3, looks like rev D, and I need to pick a speed. It looks like that should be part of the fourth number on the main chip, but I don't have one. There's just a big blank space where it should be. Just for completeness, what I see is:

XC7A35T

CPG236ABX2049

D6306033A

Thanks.

I don't think that you should have to apologize for not being able to figure out what speed grade the particular part is on your board... it should be more obvious. Especially since this information is required to create a design for the board.

The (partial) answer to your question lies in Figure 6-4 on ug475_7Series_Pkg_Pinout.pdf available in the Xilinx Documentation Navigator installed with Vivado.

The top number is the Device Type: XC7A35T
The second row are the Package/Data code: CPG236 though frankly, I'm not sure how to separate the Date Code and Package
The 3rd row is the Lot Code

and below that is a line with the Speed Grade and Operating Temperature Code. Likely, this is a 1C for the slowest speed grade and Commercial temperature operating range. If that information is missing then it raises suspicions about whether the part is legitimate.

Vendors charge a premium for faster speed graded parts and these are unlikely to found on inexpensive products.

Ideally, this information is provided in the master constraints file.

I believe that Digilent does provide all of the necessary part information in its vivado-boards-master repository that you can point Vivado to when picking a board instead of a part. Of course there's the matter of identifying your board version and the Digilent keeping its repositories up to date with product runs.