Hi I have questions

traymond

Hi all.

I have many questions:

I am new to FPGA and using:

Vivado Design Suite 2006 and have a FREE 30 day license.

Have Arty-7 Evaluation board

Are there beginner projects here for beginners that would work with Vivado and Arty?

Which beginners projects should I start with then?

Does Vivado have its own built in USB drivers for its cable?

Other than that I'm ready I just need to know how to start.

Thank you.

traymond

Hi traymond,

I have moved your question to the FPGA section of our Forum. 

There are some beginner projects for getting started with the Arty board; they are available in the Arty Resource Center under "Tutorials" and "Reference Projects". I would recommend starting out with the either the General I/O Demo or Getting Started with Microblaze. Additionally, there are some materials for getting started with the Basys 3 on our Learn site that are easily adaptable to Arty here.

When you download Vivado, you will get an option to check a box that says "Install Cable Drivers". 

Also, do you happen to mean Vivado Design Suite 2016? I do not believe Vivado has a 2006 edition.

Let me know if you have any more questions.

Thanks,
JColvin

Have you looked into the Arty resource web-page?  There are several getting started tutorials there that are specific for the Arty.  One common first step for someone with a new board is to rebuild the demonstration firmware.  That's a big step, proving that 1) your Vivado is working, 2) you can load configurations, and 3) that your hardware is working.  That's important, because on every project after that you will be questioning whether it is your configuration at fault, or the hardware.  The demonstration projects will help to answer that.