Flip-flops to Build a Clock Divider - Example in Vivado nor synthesising

AndyHook1970

Hi There,

I am new to FPGA development and verilog.

I have a Basys 3 Board and I and I am trying to synthesise the "Flip-flops to Build a Clock Divider" example shown on the Digilent website, but I keep getting this error :-

[Synth 8-2576] procedural assignment to a non-register Q is not permitted 

I have attached my design and constraint files.

I would really appreciate some help to get me over this first hurdle.

Andy 

dff.v flipFlopDivider.v Basys-3-Master.xdc

just for completeness, "reset strategy" is a fairly complex topic by itself. E.g. what are the implications of being edge sensitive on two different signals, does the FPGA hardware even support this (it sets off a red warning light, I'd have to look into the synthesized design if I had to deal with this construct but it seems suspicious in FPGA land).

On toy projects, many problems just won't show. Later in a physically large design with fast clocks it opens a barrel-of-worms with 10-inch teeth, can you guarantee each and every timing relationship between rst and clk everywhere on the die (on ASIC this might be different if you know the clock is guaranteed to be off on rst but that's a different world and I'm still not convinced I'd do this)

Conventionally, you'd write the functionality as follows

reg [26:0] ct;
wire LED = ct[26];
always @(posedge clk) begin
    ct <= ct + 27'd1;
    if (rst) // note rst is sampled on posedge(clk)
        ct <= 27'd0;
end

Feel free to replace the addition with explicit D FF equations but the overall "look" should be the same (think in terms of Moore/Mealy machines, data moving register-to-register through combinational clouds)