OpenCL and emulator for FPGA accelerator

rompish

Hi Everyone,

I am a pretty seasoned C++ programmer dealing with low level things but I am brand new to FPGA topic.

I have read some articles, watched a dozen or two videos and looked into some boards and I would like to start my first project but dont know where to start. I have a few questions:

1. Do i need to learn Verilog/VHDL if i plan on using openCL? 

2. Do all boards "support" openCL? 

3. Do i need to actually buy a board to start working on my project or i can just use a Software Emulator for one? If i can use an Emulator, where do i get it?

4. Could you suggest any openCL starting guides and tutorials that are easy to understand for someone who doesn't know Verilog/VHDL or FPGA in general?

My project goal is to have a "smart" network interface that would pre-process data arriving on Ethernet and store it on host machine RAM directly, so that my C++ program running on CPU can use that data.

Thank you!

I have used openCl only on GPUs but the first search turned up a link with this:

>> Specifically, we use Intel FPGA SDK for OpenCL that allows modern Intel FPGAs to be programmed as an accelerator, similar to GPUs

I suspect this architecture may not mix too well with network data processing: The architectural paradigm on GPUs is "one control path, many data paths" but I think you will need many parallel, independent control paths. GPUs win by massive parallelism / memory bandwidth via bitwidth. The clock speed is fairly low (=> higher end-to-end latency). Just like on FPGAs.

You may be able to find a simple example on the web looking for the following functions: clCreateProgramWithSource clBuildProgram clCreateKernel clSetKernelArg. In principle, a complete example can fit into one screen length but some "simple" things like take the maximum of a vector (reduction operations) turn out to be not simple at all...