I'm just...so lost (shift register)

qasddd

Question

Currently I'm trying to implement a shift register with a clock divider (to blink leds one by one in a row). To begin, I'm sorry. I know this code is not super hot. I'm very new to pretty much everything related to fpgas (embedded systems, verilog, coding in general)  

So, I am...very lost. This is what I've been able to put together so far. I'm pretty ok with the D flip-flop and clock divider (these work in simulation), but the shift register? I'm not even sure if I'm going about it right. Simulation runs but the led output is all the same, and thats no good. 

So, what am I doing wrong? 

D flip-flop:
    module d_ff(
        input D,
        input clk,
        input rst,
        output reg Q
        );

always @ (posedge (clk),posedge (rst))
        begin
            if (rst == 1)
                Q = 8'd1;
            else
                Q = D;
        end    

endmodule

Clock divider:

module clk_divider(
    input rst,
    input clk,
    output Q
    );

wire [26:0] din;
wire [26:0] clkdiv;

d_ff d_ff0 (
    .clk(clk),
    .rst(rst),
    .D(din[0]),
    .Q(clkdiv[0])
);

genvar i;

generate
for(i = 1; i<27; i=i+1)
begin : d_ff_gen_label
    d_ff d_ff_inst (
        .clk(clkdiv[i-1]),
        .rst(rst),
        .D(din[i]),
        .Q(clkdiv[i])
);
end
endgenerate;

assign din = ~clkdiv;
assign Q = clkdiv[26];

endmodule

Shifter:

module shift_reg(
    input En,
    input rst,
    output [7:0] led
    );

//connector wire between flipflops
wire [7:0] bitshift;

// creating the shifter out of d flipflops

//1st one
d_ff d_ff0(
    .D(bitshift[0]),
    .clk(En),
    .rst(rst),
    .Q(bitshift[1])
);

//middle ones
genvar i;
generate
for (i=1; i<7; i=i+1)
begin : d_ff_gen_label0
    d_ff d_ff_inst1(
        .clk(En),
        .rst(rst),
        .D(bitshift[i]),
        .Q(bitshift[i+1])
    );
    end
endgenerate;

//last one
d_ff d_ff1(
    .clk(En),
    .rst(rst),
    .D(bitshift[7]),
    .Q(bitshift[0])
);