Comunication speed increase between Eclypse z7 and PC

Riccardo

Hello

I have designed a custom acquisition system with the Eclypse z7 modifying the example with the ADC ZMOD1410 https://digilent.com/reference/programmable-logic/eclypse-z7/demos/zmod-scope

I managed to acquire a very large amount of data, which I want to transfer to the PC in some way. The  method used until now is the uart connection (used as in the example) but it is very poor in speed and in order to transfer the whole acquisition (917448 samples) it takes about 30min!

Is there any way in order to speed up the data transfer? I thought about ethernet connection but it seems very difficult to setup for me (I'm a beginner), in addiction I tried to settle up the echo server like in the following forum post but it did not work, as the image reported (Impossible to open a connection with the host n port 7: impossible to connect).

image.thumb.png.8bd904bc1f1ba5ffe5975ab2d1a45a5b.png

Does anyone have a suggestion or an example from where I can tap into?

Edited by Riccardo

I recently posted this: https://forum.digilent.com/topic/24531-debugging-with-the-ftxxxx-mini-modules/

If nothing else, it might give you some ideas about how to boost that 921600 baud rate by 27x ( in terms of bytes/s data rates ). The Eclypse-Z7 PMOD design is unlike anything that Digilent has done so far. I haven't tried using the DBUG_CONTROLLER with the Eclypse-Z7, but had some ideas about a possible demo for that board. All you need is 4 pins of one of the PMODs to implement a similar concept. As it stands, my implementation is limited to blocks of 64 KB, but this isn't hard to get around.