Capability comparison of two different fpga devices

mutilenka

Question

Hello all,

I'm new to fpga programming and want to get my hands dirty with some projects in the coming weeks. I want to make basic 1980s atari-like videogames with fpga devices. Now I'm a student coming from a relatively poorer country and I will be buying the fpga device with the money I've been saving in the last 4 months so I want to make sure that this purchase counts : ). I'm going in between the basys 3 fpga and the breadboardable cmod a7-35 t fpga module. Both of them are on sale here and the price comparison is as follows:

basys3 > breadboardable artix--35t fpga.

Which one of these devices would suffice for the projects that I'm planning of doing? Are any of these overkill for my purposes? Please let me know, any help appreciated.

Edited by mutilenka

1 answer to this question

The A7-35T is probably a bit small for video applications, even low resolution VGA ones, but you can do simple display things with the Basys3, as this tutorial points out: https://forum.digilent.com/topic/19910-basys3-game-tutorials-beeinvaders/

A problem with small devices like the A7-35T is that Vivado IP and MicroBlaze will use up a lot of its resources if you have to use that design flow. For an all HDL design you can fit a lot of functionality into even the smallest A7 device if it doesn't use external DDR3 memory.

Someone with a very tight budget has to be very careful before spending money. These days boards don't necessarily come with all the stuff that you need to use them; like USB 2.0 cables, power supplies, etc. Also, because of global chip shortages process for even old board have gone up 50-100% over what they sold for when originally released.