Using Vivado create_generated_clock

btremaine

Question

I'm fairly new at FPGA code and am trying to develop Verilog code for a Basys 3 board using Vivado. For several days I have struggled with getting the 'create_generated_clock' command to work. I have a large program but reduced it to a simple divider and want to declare the Q output of a DFF as a generated clock. The program passes behavioral sim with a test bench as well as synthesis and implementation with no errors. A warning in the Report Methodology reports 'TIMING #1 Critical Warning The clock pin Led_reg.C is not reached by a timing clock'

The clock commands I have in my XDC file are:

create_clock -period 10.000 -name sys_clk -waveform {0.000 5.000} -add [get_ports CLK100MHZ]
create_generated_clock -name Q_out  -source (get_pins Q_out_reg/C )  \
                       -divide_by 8 (get_pins Q_out_reg/Q )

The ultimate source is the CLK100MHZ coming in on an external pin.

Do I have an error in my command for create_generated_clock?

My intent was to specify Q_out as the generated clock and CLK100MHZ as the source, but I have some confusion in using Vivado to identify the net, source, or port to use in the command.

Using the TCL command report_clocks shows only the 100MHZ clock;

Clock    Period(ns)  Waveform(ns)   Attributes  Sources
   sys_clk  10.000      {0.000 5.000}  P           {CLK100MHZ}schematic.thumb.JPG.578127b4e4f4e36f2e68358495dfef71.JPG

5 answers to this question

You have a few misconceptions going on here.

The create_clk and create_generated_clock tcl commands are for timing constraints, not generating physical clocks in a design.