Adding Fine range controls

Anthocyanina

Question

Hi! I'm new to the Analog Discovery 2, and have been playing around in Waveforms a lot for the past couple weeks. I noticed the ranges on the oscilloscope, and voltage settings on the generators, and pretty much everywhere where there is a scale setting of sorts, they have the usual 1-2-5 increments, and also allow for a specific setting if you manually type it in the field. While this gives all the functionality one might need, for some reason, perhaps from being used to using blender shift+drag for fine controls, I keep pressing shift+scrolling on the field, expecting fine controls of the scale, but it behaving just as usual.

Seeing how this shift+scroll combination doesn't seem to be used for anything within Waveforms, I was thinking it would be great if fine controls were added to Waveforms in what, at least to me, feels like such an intuitive way to do it, and it could work like it does on bench instruments which have the "push for fine" functionality, by increasing or decreasing the range by, i don't know, a fixed percentage of the current scale? like if you're in 500mv/ and press shift then scroll, it will change by 10% of 500mV, so 50mV, until you reach the next step in the 1-2-5 sequence, then it will be either 100mV at 1V/ range or 20mV at 200mV/ range. Or it could be a fixed value across all ranges, let's say 10mV per shift+scroll step. Or! shift+scroll does the percentage based change and ctrl+scroll does the fixed fine change.

However this is implemented, if at all, from my experience with bench instruments, I think it would feel like such a good addition to the overall experience of using Waveforms, particularly when you need to quickly setup the environment for your measurements and then to be able to quickly tweak it if you got it wrong at first.

Also curious if this has been considered before, and if so, why has it not been implemented? or is it being considered for implementation already?