Critical Timing error with "Getting Started with Vivado and Vitis for Baremetal Software Projects" tutorial

Rochus

Question

Hi all,

I am an embedded software engineer trying to teach myself FPGA prototyping.

I have been following the following tutorial "Getting Started with Vivado and Vitis for Baremetal Software Projects"

https://digilent.com/reference/programmable-logic/guides/getting-started-with-ipi

I am using the Nexys A7-100T board. I have followed the tutorial and validated the project, however when I go to implement the project I get critical timing errors. Below a few of the critical errors I get, and I have attached a screenshot of timing tab page.

[Vivado 12-1411] Cannot set LOC property of ports, Cannot set PACKAGE_PIN property of ports,  port btn_tri_io[0] can not be placed on PACKAGE_PIN C12 because the PACKAGE_PIN is occupied by port reset. Please note that for projects targeting board parts, user LOC constraints cannot override constraints provided with the board. ["/home/user/codeDepot/digilentTutorialBareMetalSW/digilentTutorialBareMetalSW.srcs/constrs_1/imports/user/Nexys-A7-100T-Master.xdc":74]

[Vivado 12-1411] Cannot set LOC property of ports, Cannot set PACKAGE_PIN property of ports,  port btn_tri_io[0] can not be placed on PACKAGE_PIN C12 because the PACKAGE_PIN is occupied by port reset. Please note that for projects targeting board parts, user LOC constraints cannot override constraints provided with the board. ["/home/user/codeDepot/digilentTutorialBareMetalSW/digilentTutorialBareMetalSW.srcs/constrs_1/imports/user/Nexys-A7-100T-Master.xdc":74]

The tutorial is a great tutorial and does reference errors that may occur in some steps, however there is no reference to this error and what to do.

I guess I have to modify some clock settings. Any help would be appreciated.

Kind regards,

Rochus

Screen Shot 2022-05-28 at 7.30.57 pm.png

4 answers to this question

Hi @Rochus