How to run the labs of Vivado Desing Suite Tutorial (UG936) on Arty-7 ?

titijmc

Question

Hello

I wanted to play with the examples (labs) of the "Vivado Desing Suite Tutorial Programming and Debugging" (UG936) but I only have an Arty-7 board.

In the constraint file and in the pinout information (p.9) I see that the examples use two clock-pins (AD11 for CLK_N and AD12 for CLK_P).

But on my Arty-7 I know only one clock-pin (E3). Is there another one ?

Furthermore is it possible to play these examples on Arty-7 ?

Sorry if you find my question silly but I am a newbie on FPGA and I found no explanation in the Xilinx tutorial.

Thank in advance for any reply

Jack-Michel

3 answers to this question

Trying to follow a tutorial meant to target an FPGA device and board that isn't the one that you want to work with can be a problem for those just getting started with FPGA development. In the case of UG936 the pin locations are for the KC705 board. Normally, I'd mention that you can use the tools to build a design that targets most devices and boards. You just can't use the bitstream file to configure hardware that doesn't use the exact device ( and package ) or a different board. The free tools don't support all devices, notably Virtex and Kintex; and the KC705 uses a Kintex device. So, you can go through all of the steps of creating a bitstream, except the final step... which actually creates the bitstream file, unless you have a special device license. This isn't necessarily a show stopper.

Reading through the Xilinx tutorials is good.. with limitations. You can learn how the tools work and how the preferred Xilinx IPI design flow works.